Monday, May 11, 2015

City Council to introduce new Recreation Commission members at tonight's council session

City Council has selected those members of the community to serve on the City's Recreation Commission for the next three years, with Council set to release the names of the Commission members tonight.

The Recreation Commission, a relatively new instrument for the city to use when it comes to overview of issues related to Recreation in the City will feature six permanent members as Directors, with  Sheri Pringle, Dawn Quast, Anna Ashley, Joy Sundin, Joyce Charleton and Marc Page all set to take their positions effective tonight with terms expiring on March 31st 2018

Also announced as Alternate Directors are Karen Cruz and Alexie Stephens, they will have the same three year term as the Directors.

The successful applicants were chosen after the City launched a call for members back at the start of April.

You can review the resolution from Council from the Agenda page here.

For more background on the Recreation Commission and some of its most recent work see our items listed below:

December 2014 -- Council set to approve increases of ten percent on Recreation Fees for 2015
March 2014 -- City Manager delivers update on Recreation Department for Council
March 2014 -- City seeks volunteers for its Recreation Commission
January 2014 -- Prince Rupert City Council sets in motion plans to create a Recreation Commission

No comments:

Post a Comment