Wednesday, January 14, 2015

City Council makes committee appointments for 2015

The first council session of 2015 added on to some of the Council chores for a number of Council members, as appointments were made to a range of committees that City Council members serve on.

The positions discussed on Monday evening provide for Council participation in some of the key areas of engagement with the public, highlighted by participation on boards where the City is a major contributor to the overview of operations.

As part of the process from Monday, Council discussed the scope of the Committee work and then made the following appointments to each Committee under review for the night.

Prince Rupert Airport Authority Board

Mayor Lee Brain
City Manager Robert Long
Councillor Wade Niesh

Councillor Cunningham also observed that Council should have further discussion in the future regarding the possibility of appointing two members to this Board,

Library Board

Councillor Joy Thorkelson

Civic Recognition Group

All members of City Council will participate in this group

Performing Arts Centre Board

Councillor Blair Mirau

Recreation Commission

Mayor Lee Brain
Councillor Randhawa
Councillor Cunningham

Healthy Communities

Councillor Cunningham - Co-chair of the committee
Councillor Thorkelson is the alternate to the committee

Council also announced a number of appointments of staff members to a pair of committees and organizations.

Ms. Tanya Ostrom and Mr. Richard Pucci were appointed to the Regional Recycling Advisory Committee. As well, Mr. Robert Long was appointed to be the City's representative to the Municipal Insuarance Association.

You can review the full discussion related to the appointments from the City's Video archive, the nominations and appointments commence at the one hour fourteen minute mark.

For more items related to City Council discussions see our archive page here.

No comments:

Post a Comment