Wednesday, July 19, 2017

Jennifer Rice given parliamentary secretary duties in John Horgan government

Premier John Horgan and his cabinet took the helm in BC on Tuesday
(photo Government of BC Live Feed)

For the first time in over sixteen years, British Columbia has a new NDP government, as Premier John Horgan took his oath of office and then introduced his new cabinet.

A gender balanced collective composed of twenty ministers and two minister of state, 11 men, 11 women, with Mr. Horgan's newly installed cabinet noted as the first in BC history to achieve such parity.

The new Premier had 40 names to consider, as he pondered what his cabinet would look like, the line up of those that made the final cut can be found below:

Minister of Finance and Deputy Premier - Carole James
Minister of Advanced Education, Skills and Training - Melanie Mark
Minister of Agriculture -- Lana Popham
Attorney General - David Eby
Minister of Children and Family Development - Katrine Conroy
Minister of Citizen's Services -- Jimmy Sims
Minister of Education -- Rob Fleming
Minister of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources -- Michell Mungall
Minister of Environment and Climate Change -- George Heyman
Minister Health -- Adrian Dix
Minister of Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation -- Scott Fraser
Minister of Jobs, Trade and Technology -- Bruce Ralston
Minister of Labour -- Harry Bains
Minister of Mental Health and Addictions -- Judy Darcy
Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing -- Selina Robinson
Minister of Public Safety and Solicitor General -- Mike Farnworth
Minister of Social Development and Poverty Reduction -- Shane Simpson
Minister of Tourism, Arts and Culture -- Lisa Beare
Minister of Transportation and Infrastructure -- Claire Trevena

With Cabinet status, the Minister who will be Representing Northern interests around the cabinet table will be Doug Donaldson, the MLA for Stikine, who was named as the Minister for Forests, Lands, Natural Resources Operations and Rural development.

Minister of State for Child Care -- Katrina Chen
Minister of State for Trade -- George Chow

Jennifer Rice, who represents the North Coast, did not make it into the top tier of representatives in the cabinet room, Ms. Rice will serve the government as the Parliamentary Secretary for  Emergency Preparedness.

Joining Ms. Rice in what appears to be the consolation prize round of John Horgan makes a cabinet, are five other NDP MLA's who were appointed to parliamentary secretary duties, they include:

Parliamentary Secretary for Poverty Reduction -- Mable Elmore
Parliamentary Secretary for Seniors -- Anne Kang
Parliamentary Secretary for Sport and Multiculturalism -- Ravi Kahlon
Parliamentary Secretary for Technology -- Rick Glumac
Parliamentary Secretary for Trans-Link -- Bowinn Ma

Shortly after the cabinet announcement, Ms. Rice took to her Facebook page to share some thoughts on her new appointment.

Still to come to round out the key requirements of keeping the Legislature moving along will be the need for a Speaker, Deputy Speaker, whip, Deputy whip, caucus chair and deputy caucus chair. So for those not named to a position today, another shot at increased duties could yet beckon.

You can watch a replay of the Swearing in Ceremony from the Government of British Columbia Facebook page here.

A look at how the province's media reviewed the roll out of the Horgan collection can be found below:

NDP Premier John  Horgan's cabinet
With Horgan sworn in, BC NDP faces immediate test in wildfire crisis
In BC, Liberal's crises suddenly become NDP's problems
B.C.'s new NDP government sworn into office
Wildfires, opioid crisis, softwood: John Horgan outlines priorities before swearing-in
Transition of B.C. government won't interfere with wildfire-fighting efforts
Vancouver is well represented in John Horgan's new B.C. NDP cabinet
BC's new Premier John Horgan unveils Gender-Balanced cabinet
B.C. NDP cabinet: 2017: Metro Vancouver MLAs handed key cabinet roles
Darcy leads difficult job list in Horgan's tough cabinet
Is equity policy linked to NDP's shaky grip on power?
Seven new B.C. NDP cabinet ministers you should know about
New housing minister Selina Robinson to tackle B.C.'s runaway housing
Prepare for turbulence as the NDP takes flight
Emotion filled start for new NDP government
Horgan takes charge as B.C. premier names his cabinet
Ice cream with the premier? Thousands say yes
Answers to all the ministers questions
Premier John Horgan, NDP cabinet get down to work
John Horgan sworn-in as B.C. premier, unveils new cabinet
New Ministry of Mental Health and Addictions aims to tackle B.C.'s opioid crisis
B.C. cabinet: Key ministries and who's in charge of them

More notes on how the North Coast is represented at the Legislature can be found here.

Further background on the province's political scene can be found on our D'Arcy McGee portal

No comments:

Post a Comment