Friday, September 14, 2018

Mayor's position to be acclaimed; contests ahead for Prince Rupert City Council and School District 52

The Prince Rupert Mayoralty will go uncontested
in 20018, with no other candidates having submitted their 

name in nomination. As a result Mayor Lee Brain
will serve another four year term by acclamation

(photo from Mayor Brain's facebook page)

With the deadline for the 2018 nominations for the Municipal and School District election in Prince Rupert now closed, Prince Rupert City Hall has released the list of those who have submitted their nomination forms for this years election.

When it comes to the race for Mayor of Prince Rupert, the results are already in, with Lee Brain noted as the only candidate to submit nomination papers.  

That will mean that the Mayor's position for the next four year term will be awarded to Mr. Brain by acclamation.


For Prince Rupert City Council there are eight candidates for six positions.

Four incumbents have submitted their nomination, they include

Barry Cunningham
Blair Mirau
Wade Niesh
Gurvinder Randhawa

Four new faces will be seeking one of the six spots in October, they include

Nick Adey
Charmayne Carlson
Sarah Dantzer
Reid Skelton Morven

With the arrival of the deadline, long serving council member Joy Thorkelson has seemingly chosen to step aside from municipal politics for the moment. 

Something that perhaps should not be a surprising decision, as Ms. Thorkelson has taken on a number of high profile roles related to British Columbia fishery issues in the last year.

The contest for School District will provide for the biggest pool of candidates with eleven hopefuls  entering the race to claim one of the six positions available.

They include all five incumbents

James Horne
Terri Lynne Huddlestone
Bart Kuntz
Tina Last
Louise Sanchez

Some familiar names and new additions mark the rest of the field which includes:

David Cook
Al Ernst
Steve Finnigan
Kristy Maier
Jessica Newman
Kate Toye

The challenge of nomination process is open now until Tuesday, September 18th at 4PM

Should any of the candidates for office have a second thought, they have until Friday, September 21st to announce their withdrawal from the election campaign process.

After that point, a candidate may only withdraw by delivering a signed request to the Chief Election Officer and receiving the approval from the Minister

The complete list from today's Declaration of Candidates can be reviewed here.


Port Edward will have mayoralty race in the lead up to the October 20th vote, with incumbent Dave MacDonald to be challenged by Knut Bjorndal and Doug Larsen.

All four council members are running once again, with James Brown, Dan Franzen Christine MacKenzie and Grant Moore all seeking another four year term.

Murray Kristoff will also be contesting the October  vote, looking to claim a spot at the Port Edward table.

For notes related to the 2018 Municipal and School District elections see our archive pages below:

Prince Rupert, Port Edward and Haida Gwaii

North Coast Inland areas

To return to the most recent blog posting of the day, click here.

No comments:

Post a Comment