Thursday, December 30, 2021

British Columbians to make their mark on the Order of Canada appointment list for end of 2021

As 2021 comes to an end, Governor General Mary Simon has released the list of the 135 Canadians to be celebrated for new appointments to the Order of Canada, one of the nation's highest of civilian honours.

Created in 1967, the Order of Canada recognizes outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation. More than 7,000 people from all sectors of society have been invested into the Order. 

Those who bear the Order’s iconic snowflake insignia have changed our nation’s measure of success and, through the sum of their accomplishments, have helped us build a better Canada.

In the Announcement from Government House on Wednesday, the appointment order was outlined.

Her Excellency the Right Honourable Mary Simon, Governor General of Canada, announced 135 appointments to the Order of Canada. The new appointees include 2 Companions (C.C.), 39 Officers (O.C.), 1 honorary Member and 93 Members (C.M.).

Among the 135 Canadians named to this years lists, are some very recognizable British Columbians, a collective that make up 20 of the 135 announcements for the final days of 2021.

Officers of the Order of Canada 

Pieter Cullis, O.C. Vancouver, British Columbia 
For his contributions to the advancement of biomedical research and drug development, and for his mentorship of the next generation of scientists and entrepreneurs.

Connie J. Eaves, O.C. Vancouver, British Columbia  
For advancing our understanding of cancer development, and for her national and international leadership in stem cell biology.

The Honourable David Ross Fitzpatrick, O.C., O.B.C. Kelowna, British Columbia
For his lifelong dedication to the cultural and economic development of the Okanagan, and for his leadership and conservation efforts in the region.
Margo Lainne Greenwood, O.C. Vernon, British Columbia 
For her scholarship as a professor of early childhood education, and for her transformational leadership in Indigenous health policy.

Donald Chisholm McKenzie, O.C., M.S.M. Sidney, British Columbia 
For his expertise in sports medicine and for his seminal research on the effectiveness of exercise as an intervention for breast cancer patients.

Jean Riley Senft, O.C. West Vancouver, British Columbia
For her contributions to the sport of figure skating as one of Canada’s leading judges and promoter of fairer judging rules.

Verena Tunnicliffe, O.C. Victoria, British Columbia 
For her outstanding contributions to ocean sciences and for being a pioneer in the scientific exploration of the deep sea

Mary Ellen Turpel-Lafond, O.C. North Saanich, British Columbia 
For her ongoing commitment to improving the child welfare system and supports for Indigenous people in British Columbia

Members of the Order of Canada

Lily Siewsan Chow, C.M. Victoria, British Columbia 
For preserving and promoting the history of early Chinese immigrants to Canada and their contributions to the country’s social and economic development.

Janis Dunning, C.M. and Jacques Lemay, C.M. Victoria, British Columbia 
For their numerous contributions to the arts and to young artists in Canada.

Walter N. Hardy, C.M. Vancouver, British Columbia 
For his pioneering contributions to the fields of particle physics, materials science and high-temperature superconductivity, as a distinguished theorist and experimentalist.

Jane Heyman, C.M. Vancouver, British Columbia 
For her long-lasting contributions to Vancouver’s cultural landscape through her various roles within the theatre sector.

Jacques Lemay, C.M. and Janis Dunning, C.M. Victoria, British Columbia 
For their numerous contributions to the arts and to young artists in Canada. 

Joy Kathryn MacPhail, C.M. Vancouver, British Columbia 
 For her pioneering contributions to politics and for her tireless advocacy of underserved and marginalized communities. 

Ralph Nilson, C.M. Nanaimo, British Columbia
For his exemplary leadership as a university administrator, and for his student advocacy and commitment to the process of reconciliation.

David Roche, C.M. Roberts Creek, British Columbia 
For his pioneering contributions to the field of disability art, and for promoting acceptance, inclusion and diversity across Canada and the United States. 

Diane Sowden, C.M. Powell River, British Columbia 
For her leadership in raising awareness of and preventing the sexual exploitation and human trafficking of children and youth. 

Curtis A. Suttle, C.M. Vancouver, British Columbia 
For his innovative scholarship in the area of marine virology and for his mentorship of the next generation of scientists. 

Peter Zandstra, C.M. Vancouver, British Columbia 
For his pioneering leadership in the field of stem cell bioengineering and its subsequent innovative health and economic impacts. 

David Zussman, C.M. Victoria, British Columbia 
For his contributions to public service management and policymaking, as a scholar, public servant and sought-after advisor.

The full list of the 135 and their short biographies can be explored here.

Some background on the national honours program can be reviewed here.

No comments:

Post a Comment